Shabbos Blessing- Week 21

So here’s the thing. I’m in Naples. I have no computer. I’m typing this on my phone and WordPress is being super finicky and not letting me post pictures. So this will be quick.

Trump came into office a week ago. Every day seems a little darker, and at the same time I am amazed by the outpouring of righteous resistance erupting across America and around the world. Last Saturday, I marched in Barcelona.

That day and every day since, my Facebook feed has been flooded with images of continued protests. I wish I were with these marchers. It is incredibly strange to be on vacation in Europe this week. But here I am. So I’m trying to hold the state of the world in one hand and the delight of the moment in the other.

I don’t have access to my list of blessings this week, but this morning, traipsing about Pompeii, I found myself holding immense gratitude for life and its fragility. In this time when it’s so necessary for us to fight, how lucky we are to be alive right now.

img_0248

I’ll write a fuller report of these travels when I’m back in Israel. For now, Shabbat shalom, all. And ciao!

One thought on “Shabbos Blessing- Week 21

  1. Your photo of Roman ruins reminded me of how other epochs have ended and the fate that awaits our own. More reason to believe in the coming of the Messiah…

    Enjoy your holiday,

    Love, Grandma Doris

    Like

Got something to say?

